…and the masters of the universe

Thanks to all who voted for my drawing in Poe Ghostal’s Points of Articulation He-Man contest. It looks like I won second place; a Masters of the Universe Classics Mer-Man action figure! Mer-Man was always my favorite of the He-Man villains because of his distinctive “gargling a big glass of water” voice the character had on the animated series.

Although it was my favorite cartoon when I was a kid, I haven’t decided whether or not I’m going to inflict He-Man on Elliot and the soon-to-be-arriving Baby #2. I rewatched some of the cartoon a few years ago and found it to be unbelievably bland… but the toys were neat, and I’m sure Elliot will appreciate this one.

Although it’s nothing to do with either teaching or journal comics, I thought I’d post my drawing for fun. All the entries to the contest were really terrific.

poeheman

2 Responses to “…and the masters of the universe”

  1. […] Some of you might remember last year when I asked readers to vote for me in a contest for Poe Ghostal’s Points of Articulation, wherein I had to take Poe and draw him as a character from the 1980′s toy line He-Man and the Masters of the Universe. You can see my take on Poe here. […]

Leave a Reply

