2011-2012 school year: an uffish problem

This is two problems I’ve crammed into one comic. The gap between learning in high school and middle school is, I think, more significant than most educators give credit. I could go on about my issues with middle schools, backing those concerns up with my experience working in middle schools… but perhaps I’ll save that for another time.

The “here’s a book/poem, let’s read it and then immediately afterward watch the movie” thing is just a bad practice in which WAY too many teachers indulge.

4 Responses to “2011-2012 school year: an uffish problem”

  1. Our “Lord of the Flies” unit in high school was accomplished by watching The Simpsons… Amusing, yes. Productive…mmm…

    • Christopher Pearce Says:

      It’s crazy: The Simpsons has, at some point in their twenty-plus year run, covered about half my curriculum. The Simpsons has done their versions of The Odyssey, Romeo and Juliet, The Most Dangerous Game, and The Raven (which, I gotta admit Katie, I do use in my class when after we spend a week reading Poe. I back it up with a LOT of context).

      It’s so funny that a show could cover so many materials!

  2. As a fellow English teacher, I think the film version should NEVER be watched unless the process of adaptation is the topic being taught and explored. And it should always follow lengthy teaching on the book FIRST.

    • Christopher Pearce Says:

      In general, I tend to agree. I do know teachers who have had success scaffolding their Shakespeare units with low-level readers by showing a production of the play first. I’m talking about classrooms where ninth graders are reading at a second or third grade level- showing the movie and then dipping into the Bard’s words seems to give much-needed context.

      On the flip side, I’ve known teachers who work backwards, picking certain books or movies because they know they have a long movie or mini-series to show along with it. That practice is awful.

Leave a Reply

