sketchbook: my big original comic book idea from when i was sixteen

This one goes back aways.

I recently found a whole bunch of drawings and sketches I did when I was in high school. I was thinking about scanning some of them over the holiday break… but I decided to spare the world, at least for the time being.

Most of these sketches were pretty incomplete but there were one or two ideas I daresay were fleshed out in a reasonable way. One of these was my big newspaper comic strip idea. The other was what you see above.

In 1997, I was a huge fan of the movie Grosse Pointe Blank. If you’ve never seen the movie, it’s about a hitman who shows up for his 10 year high school reunion. I started thinking “I should do a comic about a hitman… except he’s still in high school.” How original!

I actually got pretty far into planning the concept out and yeah, although it’s not the most original thing ever… I had some fun ideas.

The hitman… or hit-teenager, if you will… he commandeered one of the bathrooms as an office at his high school and remodeled it to look like the kind of office Mike Hammer had. He even had a secretary very much modeled after Velda.

The high concept for the book involved the guy being hired to whack other students. I had a whole issue thumbnailed where the dean of the school took out a hit on a bunch of students very much modeled after The Breakfast Club, which I still think is a funny idea. The climatic fight would have been our protagonist chasing after everyone on a just-waxed hallway floor. Again, SUPER original, I know.

The guy on the bottom left is the kid’s father. He’s a hitman gone to seed although I seem to remember there being a a MacGuyver aspect to his character. I never really fleshed it out.

About a year after I worked out some of this stuff in my sketchbooks… Columbine! I think that put the kibosh on the idea for me and I had forgotten about it until last week.

Leave a Reply

