chalkboard drawings: the “i don’t think we’re in kansas anymore” edition

The first full week was Wizard of Oz themed. I’m less a fan of the 1939 musical than I am the original L. Frank Baum novels… and less a fan of the first, more famous book. I started with The Marvelous Land of Oz and moved through the rest of the series in that way. In fact, I’m not even sure I ever read The Wonderful Wizard of Oz all the way through.

That being said, I went with the movie interpretations of the characters because they are the best known. Also, John O’Neill is WAY too good an artist for me to try and imitate. He’s incredible.

The Tin Woodsman was always my favorite. I dressed at him for Halloween when I was like four years old.

The Cowardly Lion however, was always my least favorite… which explains why his chalkboard drawing is the weakest.

The Wizard was weirdly fun to draw.

I went with a flying monkey because the rest of the Oz characters were women. I have no problem drawing myself in Dorothy drag, with all the baggage that entails… but I thought it might be a strange drawing to sit on the chalkboard all Friday.

Leave a Reply

