odds and ends- i’m a minimate contest winner

Check out this sweet prize I won. Some of you might remember, I collect Minimates on and off. Diamond Select Toys and Collectables, the company that distributes Minimates, had  a contest a few weeks ago. You could enter simply by posting a link to their website on your Facebook page. I did, and I won!

The first part of the prize was awesome but… unwieldy.

I got two GIGANTIC posters. Seriously, their eight feet long and three feet wide. Here’s one of ’em.

I have no idea what I am going to do with either of these things, but they’re quite cool. I also received a box full of Minimates:

A bunch of them are from the recent Marvel v. Capcom line of Minimates. I should say, this is a line I wouldn’t have bought myself, as I already have all the Marvel character I want/need and I don’t have much interest in video games. Having seen the toys now, I am really glad I got these. The Marvel characters are quite well-designed and although I don’t know many of the video game guys, I was pleasantly surprised to find one of the characters was Arthur. He’s the knight from the Ghouls and Goblins game I used to play as a kid. I also received a really cool stealth jet from the Minimates M.A.X line. It’s quite a neat toy, with removable wings that attach to an included Minimate-sized backpack.

To be perfectly honest with you… although the big posters and toys were great, I was FAR more excited about the other part of the prize. Art Asylum sent me a couple of pieces of control art they use to design and finalize the toys. They sent me two of these drawings and I couldn’t be more pleased with them. They’re all drawn in pencil.

The first one is clearly Wolverine, in his civvies.

…and the second is Zuul, a.k.a. Dana Barrett!

Anyone whose read this blog for longer than a week knows how big a fan I am of Ghostbusters. This control art is really cool, especially since I happen to own the Zuul/Dana Minimate, and I could compare and contrast.

At any rate. many thanks to Art Asylum, Diamond Select Toys and Collectables, and Zach Oat for the cool prizes.

3 Responses to “odds and ends- i’m a minimate contest winner”

  1. hey what you gunna do with the posters ?

Leave a Reply

