summer journal comics: henry’s heroes

I’ve talked about this before here, but I wanted to make sure I had it in a comic. Henry loves Masters of the Universe, the Fleischer Brothers/Famous Studios Superman cartoons, and recently he’s been watching a lot of old Spider-Man cartoons. Funnily enough, we don’t watch the Spidey cartoons form 1967; I find them to be pretty unwatchable. No, Henry (and Elliot) go in big for Spider-Man and his Amazing Friends, the cartoon series that aired on NBC in the Eighties.

I was too young for that one when it was originally on, but I’ve watched a couple of episodes with the boys and it’s not horrible. As a superhero comic book fan, I would have appreciated how many guest starts the show accommodated if I had seen it then. Via Spider-Man and his Amazing Friends, the boys are now fans of Thor, Captain America, and The X-Men. In particular, the show seems to be X-Men crazy, with a bunch of episodes focusing on them. I know Marvel had been trying like crazy to get an X-Men cartoon series off the ground at the time… perhaps this was their sneaky, backdoor way of getting the characters into cartoons.

(I should also point out, theme-wise, we’re only four comics into the summer and this is the SECOND strip about my kids watching old superhero cartoons. THEMES!)

2 Responses to “summer journal comics: henry’s heroes”

  1. “I was too young for that one when it was originally on, but I’ve watched a couple of episodes with the boys and it’s not horrible. ”

    Man I remember getting up every Saturday morning for that show! Man I feel old now! I thought you and I were around the same age!

    Have you guys ever watched the Original XMen pilot cartoon, Pryde of the X-Men? Best take on the X-Men done ever in my opinion… but I might be biased by nostalgia…

    • Christopher Pearce Says:

      I saw Pryde of the X-Men YEARS ago… one of our local stations in NY (WPIX, I think) showed it one random Saturday afternoon. That one single pilot holds up better than the hundred-odd episodes of the X-Men cartoon from the 1990’s!

      I think it’s likely unintended, but mark my words- fifteen years from now, there will be SO many more Marvel Comics fans than any other superhero property, precisely because all their cartoons are available for instant viewing on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

