summer journal comics: panera freak out

Despite all my shilling for that contest a few months ago, I’m going to take a VERY snobby position and say I do not really think the bagels you can buy at Panera are bagels. They’re more like… donuts. Someone once told me displaced New Yorkers like complaining about not being able to get NYC food more than they do finding suitable or even tastier replacements. I think there’s a measure of truth to that.

Let me just say then, that I have come to honestly enjoy Panera’s “bagels” over the years. They’re not what I think of when I think bagel, but they do the job decently enough.

Leave a Reply

