notes in a lunch box

Elliot started back at preschool this week. It’s his final year before kindergarten and as such, he gets to bring his own lunch. Ellen went out and bought him a fancy lunch box… or at least, it looks fancy to me. I vastly preferred the plastic Thermos lunch boxes, with licensed characters on the front.

Anyway, Ellen asked me to draw Elliot something on his first day on a Post-It… and I’ve kept it up ever since. Ellen keeps sticking them up above the oven.

Elliot and Henry have recently discovered Scooby Doo in a big way and they’ve been obsessed with My Neighbor Totoro since the summer. I don’t know if I’m going to keep drawing these or if this was just kind of a “first week” thing… but here’s the first three.

2 Responses to “notes in a lunch box”

  1. I love these!

  2. That’s so cool! I did drawings for my son too on his lunch bag and called them Lunch Bag Chronicles. The teacher told me they read them in class. I saved them, but they’re pretty silly. My son would kill me if I tried such a thing now. He’s 13.

Leave a Reply

