odds and ends: cincinnati comic expo 2012

Fast becoming an annual geek tradition, I’ll be spending Saturday and Sunday at the Cincinnati Comic Expo.

As regional comic shows go, the CCE has been growing like crazy in the past three years and 2012 promises to be the biggest yet. The Guest of Honor include four of the artists (Steve Bissette, Rick Veitch, John Totleben, Thomas Yeates) who worked with Alan Moore on Saga of the Swamp Thing, a comic I loved as a teenager. It’s a nice get for the show and I’m looking forward to getting all four gentlemen to sign my hardcover collection of these comics.

Geoff Darrow is also going to be in attendance at the show. Darrow’s probably best known for his work with Frank Miller on Hard Boiled or his own creation, The Big Guy and Rusty the Boy Robot. Back in 1995, I met Darrow at a comic convention in New York where he signed a “suitable for framing” poster print for me.

Now, this print’s been through a LOT in the past seventeen years. It’s hung on walls in Western New York, Boston, and Ohio. Ellen and I hung it on Elliot’s wall when he was a baby! I’m pretty attached to it, and my kids are too. I’m hoping I can get Darrow to add Elliot and Henry’s names to mine at the margin at the bottom.

Of course, those of you who read here regularly already know, the real reason I like going to comic shows is the shopping; those dollar back issue bins are like catnip for me. I’ve also a few “holy grail” comics I’ve been looking to acquire for years. They’re always ridiculous things though, with no real monetary value. For example, this CCE, I’m hoping to locate a copy of DC Comics Presents #67

…the issue where Superman teams up with Santa Claus. I realize that is a pathetic “holy grail” but it fits perfectly within my spectrum of interests, no?

I will, no doubt, regale you with my finds next week.

Leave a Reply

