2012-2013 school year: vacation, all i ever wanted

The first in a four day epic! I’m hoping this is a relatable problem for teachers, as it’s something I’ve been dealing with a lot over the past few years.

2 Responses to “2012-2013 school year: vacation, all i ever wanted”

  1. Wow. Two weeks? I’m not positive, but I believe the system my kids are in have a maximum of 10 unexcused absences. Otherwise, they basically have to repeat the grade.

    I don’t have a problem with my kids missing a day or two (at most) for something like a trip, as long as they’re in a good position to do so. We changed plans recently when we realized taking our 7th grader out early to make a trek to see family would put him too far behind.

    Usually we give the teacher(s) an informal heads up. We’re active in our elementary school and keep good relationships with all of the kids’ teachers. They are usually okay with it. The middle school seems to be bigger hard asses about it (which I understand considering the mounds of work those poor kids do).

    Coming from a family of teachers, though, I can’t imagine any of them being okay with a student missing two weeks for anything but an illness!

    • Christopher Pearce Says:

      I believe we have the same policy… but there are all sorts of extenuating circumstances and whatnot which occasionally render that policy void. I’ve got a student this year who’s still on my roster and I think she’s been in class maybe 20 times the whole semester!

Leave a Reply

