Teacher Comics: Writer’s notebooks

The journal entry was: Think of a time when you just did not get along with another person and write about it.TeachComic55

This journal entry was meant to get everyone thinking about the conflict in Romeo and Juliet and I think it worked! If you’re a high school English teacher and you’re not using writer’s notebooks… you should. Although it’s a LOT of reading and grading on the teacher’s part, getting kids to write is one of the more important things you can have students doing.

Sometimes I’m very tempted to use all of my students’ writer’s notebooks for comics. There’s some really clever, brilliant stuff I’d love to tackle. It’s something I’d like to consider for next school year, perhaps.

6 Responses to “Teacher Comics: Writer’s notebooks”

  1. I like your passion for interacting with the students.

  2. I started dialogue journals this semester with my upper level Spanish students. They are a pain in the butt to grade but I love the interaction I can have (especially with my more quiet students). It’s also a great outlet for the kids, especially in times like we had last week where a student died of cancer and they need as many private, emotional outlets as they can get. It’s totally worth the extra work. (Plus, their written Spanish is improving by leaps and bounds!)

    • Christopher Pearce Says:

      I’m glad you mentioned what a “pain in the butt” grading journals/writer’s notebooks can be, Courtney. You’re absolutely right – to properly give the kind of feedback and attention a student needs, it takes a hell of a lot of time. The rewards are ultimately worth it, but yes… a teacher really needs to buckle down if they’re going to make this an effective part of their classroom.

  3. Jo Gibson Says:

    Hello, are you Chris Pearce, previous language teacher at Courtmoor School? My son was a former pupil who has used his spanish ‘grounding’ to take him overseas and into teaching posts in Spain, he’d love you to know… If it is you please do get in touch, thank you. Jo Gibson

Leave a Reply

