Chalkboard Drawings: The “Look, Up in the Sky!” edition

I draw a picture of myself on my classroom’s chalkboard everyday. I collect those pictures as camera phone photos and post them on Sundays. See the rest here.

Supes1

I decided on a Superman themed week based on enjoying doing a similar thing with Batman last year.Batman’s had a whole lot more recognizable iterations than Superman so…

Monday’s drawing is a take-off of the original Superman #1, originally published in 1939.

Supes2

Tuesday’s drawing is sort of a Superman of the 1950’s and 1960’s. There’s some Curt Swan in there and certainly Neal Adams famous cover was an inspiration.

Supes3

Wednesday’s drawing is from the weird year in the late 1990’s when Superman acquired a host of  electricity-based superpowers. None of my students believed me that this was a thing that happened to Superman, but it did and it was.

Supes4

Thursday’s drawing is of the New 52 Superman or, as I like to think about him, Boring Garbage Superman. I’m sure there are some fans of those comics but they just seem to squelch everything I love about Superman to death.

Supes5

The fifth drawing is of Superman from the Elseworlds book Kingdom Come, designed by Alex Ross and written by Mark Waid.

That did not end up being so brief and I am a nerd.

2 Responses to “Chalkboard Drawings: The “Look, Up in the Sky!” edition”

  1. I saw the article about your comics on NPR. How do you have time to draw the chalk figures every day?! I can barely make it to the bathroom between classes, let alone grade 150 essays during the work day.

    • Christopher Pearce Says:

      Oh, the chalkboard drawings are done outside of contracted hours, for sure. How I do these drawings is kind of a process that I should go into detail somewhere down the line, but in brief: I’ll doodle out themes in my sketchbook and then copy them over.

Leave a Reply

