Chalkboard Drawings: The “evolution” edition

 

I draw a picture of myself on my classroom’s chalkboard everyday. I collect those pictures as camera phone photos and post them on Sundays. See the rest here.

Evolve1

 

Evolve2

 

Evolve3

 

Evolve4

 

Evolve5

The theme this week was, I’m a little embarrassed to say, inspired by a weird interaction I had over on the Reddit Teachers page. The Chalk Ink Markers I use for these things were donated by someone over there and I wanted to say “Thank you” so I posted a bunch of the chalkboard drawings over there.

Most people seemed to like them, but a user really took me to task for being “wasteful” with my resources. I thought (and still do think) they were splitting hairs (I guess because their suggestion that I use the drawings to illustrate essential questions was something I tried doing years ago but didn’t work) but they went on about how “unevolved” my school district is because they ask I put the date on the board for my students. I’ve since learned this kind of behavior is de rigueur for many Reddit users.

I’m really bad at arguing in real life but I’m even worse at it online where I rarely have any motivation. Like, what was I going to do, convince this person they were wrong? Not going to happen I let it go… but that “unevolved” comment got through my utterly thin skin!

So I did a week of evolution on my chalkboard to work out my feelings against someone whose snotty opinions of my classroom don’t really matter and here they are!

Leave a Reply

