Teacher Comics: Hey honey

EduComic49

10 Responses to “Teacher Comics: Hey honey”

  1. Excellent commentary. I applaud your efforts at promoting gender neutrality in teaching.

    I saw your work on NPR and came to the blog. It’s great stuff.

  2. As someone who didn’t really grow up with a father, when my male teachers called me something like “hon” it always made my day more than anyone could ever know. I personally see it as a term of endearment, though I can see how other people may not like it as much. Just a different opinion is all

    • Christopher Pearce Says:

      To be clear, I agree with you… and I don’t think “hon” is a terribly harmful term of endearment at all! I just want to work at keeping the way I address students a level field.

  3. I call my students (high schoolers) kiddos sometimes, as in “OK Kiddos, are we ready to get to work?”, but more often I fall into “guys”. It feels weird for me to say “folks.” My son’s second grade teacher always referred to the group as “friends,” which seems a bit condescending to high schoolers (my perception, not theirs). Odd to consider “guys” is accepted, almost no big deal at all, but if you call a group “ladies” and there are boys present it’s considered demeaning and yet their is no main-stream non-gender address for a group.

    • Christopher Pearce Says:

      My son’s first grade classes are all branded by some kind of animal. He’s a Bumblebee this year, he was a Butterfly last year. I suppose that idea comes from some of what we’re talking about here.

  4. Andrew Johnson Says:

    Thank you for pointing this out. I noticed that I often respond to my male students as ‘sir’ but rarely if ever respond with any moniker when I answer a female student’s question. I need to find something to replace ‘sir’ for young women, but ‘miss’ sounds demeaning. Any suggestions?

  5. I had one high school teacher who always addressed us as “people”- so, “ok people, remember the test on Friday” or “Good morning people, we have a busy day today” etc. That seemed to work, and the way she said it made it friendly.

  6. This is great and as a kindergarten teacher, I often wonder if HS teachers think about this. I refer to my class as friends, but I equally use sweetie or honey with boys and girls. Though we are accredited by NAEYC and they would frown upon this. Sometimes I think PC has gone too far. I never use guys as a professor once pointed out the fact…..they’re not all guys! I guess awareness is good and we all try our best! Glad to have found you on NPR!

  7. I call my high school students “cherubs” both in class and in talking about them with parents and fellow staff members – as a reminder that they are all loved and lovable (even if that’s a stretch at the moment). Sometimes, they’re my “fine young scholars”. 1:1 I do call them all “honey” and “sweetie” but I’m a total mom-teacher who gets my own personal kids’ names wrong. I remember the kids and stories, but ooh, the names . . .

Leave a Reply

