A happy Thanksgiving/Turkey Day to all!

MST3Kturkeyday

Ah yes, it’s that time of year… the bird is slowly cooking in the oven, oversized balloons of popular cartoon characters are bouncing down 34th Street, and I’m preparing to gorge on an entire day of Mystery Science Theater 3000 in honor of that greatest of geek holidays – Turkey Day.

Turkey Day was a regular fixture of my Thanksgivings growing up. I was a tremendous fan of MST3K and the prospect of having a whole day of it at my fingertips was incredible. The Turkey Day festivities fell to the wayside when the show moved to The SciFi Channel, but that’s never stopped me from programming my own Turkey Day from old VHS cassettes and more recently, online streaming options (including the online revival at MST3KTurkeyDay.com).

So, if you’ll indulge me, behind the cut are my Turkey Day plans. Wishing everyone a very happy and enjoyable Thanksgiving today!

Alright, so firstly… I’ll leave my laptop open to catch the new bumpers by Joel Hodgson on the Shout! Factory website. I probably won’t watch the actual episodes because I’d rather have MST3K on my big TV, but I’m curious about what gets picked and Joel’s always a hoot.

I should also mention that I’m somewhat fortunate in that I have a pretty decently collection of MST3K, both on VHS cassettes and DVD. YouTube is a viable option right now, but it seems like Best Brains is getting a little more serious about monetizing the streaming of the show.

Having said that, here’s my slate:

Gamera vs. Guiron – We start with a Gamera movie because they were favorites when I was a kid. This movie has one of my favorite weird scenes and accompanying riff when Gamera spins around on a bar like he’s an Olympic gymnast. (I own this on DVD).

I Accuse My Parents – This is easily one of the best episodes of MST3K and the one I recommend showing to newbies… even if it doesn’t have any fake rubber monsters or stupid spaceships. It’s a heavy handed morality tale with one of the stupidest protagonists in the history of cinema. (I own this on DVD).

The Day the Earth Froze – From the Russo-Finnish trilogy of strangeness, this is a lushly crafted movie of utter nonsense. I haven’t seen it in years, but I remember it being a good episode. (I’m going to stream this somehow).

Night of the Blood Beast (Thanksgiving version) – My Turkey Day tradition, this is a largely mediocre episode of MST3k. I mean, Mike and the ‘bots do what they can, but it’s a talky Roger Corman flick with lots of scientists just sitting around. What distinguishes Night of the Blood Beast is the sketches, which are all Thanksgiving related and very festive. This one is streaming on Netflix but I don’t know if it’s the Thanksgiving version or the alternate cut, so I’ll be breaking out the DVDs on this one.

Leave a Reply

