Teacher Comics: Shut up and let them do their work (sometimes)

EduComic71WP

I try not to have a TON of running commentary on these posts, but I just wanted to mention something about how this comic project has helped me to be a better educator.

Today’s deals with a problem I have in the classroom; I have a tendency to run off at the mouth sometimes when I’d be better served to stop talking and let students get on with it. I suppose it’s something I sort of knew about myself but in drawing these comics and being reflective about my job, I’ve had the tendency pop up a few times in the comics.

I don’t want to generalize but I do believe most educators don’t get anywhere near enough time to reflect on their work. We get observations where we’re asked to jump through hoops for the sake of jumping through them with little time to consider “Why?” or “How can I be better?”

One of the things doing this comic has afforded me is a chance to step back and realize where I need to work to get better as a teacher.

Leave a Reply

