Teacher Comics: Best practices for teaching “controversial” material

EduComic93

Please notice, during the past two days I’ve thrown quotation marks around the word “controversial.” I don’t find My Friend Dahmer controversial in the least. As a teacher however, I have to understand where others might… and as I said yesterday, politically it’s important for teachers to cover their bases, especially in how tenuous our positions can be at times.

The alternative reading was, by the way, Bless the Beasts and Children by Glendon Swarthout. Not one parent requested the alternative text.

One Response to “Teacher Comics: Best practices for teaching “controversial” material”

  1. I usually hand the design of studying “controversial topics” over to the class (within limits). They take ownership and it means I can’t be accused of inciting anything, and, similarly can’t be accused of influencing students attitudes on particular topics like religion (I was working in a muslim country at the time) or the stupidity of communism (was teaching in a a communist country at the time…) I agree though, what are seen as controversial topics must be addressed!

Leave a Reply

