Teacher Comics: Comics, Classroom Reading, and Student Choice

NCTE Comic

A few weeks ago, I mentioned the National Council of Teachers of English asked me to draw a comic for their September newsletter. I was beyond excited for the assignment and chose the topic of student choice in independent reading. Me being me, I of course skewed it toward comics and graphic novels. I was happy to namecheck great books like Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis, Jeff Smith’s Bone, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples’ Saga, and Raina Telgemeier’s Drama. All of those great comics have been banned in schools and libraries for what I view as laughable reasons. All of those comics should absolutely be available to young people to read and enjoy.

Tomorrow I’ll be making my way to the annual NCTE convention in Minneapolis where I’m receiving a Teacher Award for Literacy, so I thought on the eve of my trip, posing a nice version of this comic was worth doing.

Leave a Reply

