Teacher Comics: It’s that time of year again!

I’ve been feeling a little off this year and recently I realized… one of the reasons (weird as it sounds) is that this is the first year in about 8 years where I’m not teaching Romeo and Juliet. Oh, I did Shakespeare of course, my 10th graders took a run at Julius Caesar I feel was pretty successful. Still, I found I missed teaching something I know SO well… and enjoyed quite a bit.

Teachable Moments

View original post

4 Responses to “Teacher Comics: It’s that time of year again!”

  1. This makes me happy. R&J gets so much hate from some people. Sometimes, it seems like it’s in vogue to dislike R&J, like it’s the Nickelback of Shakespeare.

    I never understood that impulse.

    • Christopher Pearce Says:

      I completely agree with you there Zak. Lots of R&J haters out there but you won’t find me among them.

  2. Jennifer L Walden Says:

    I’m just about to teach Julius Caesar to sophomores and I want to recommend a video version made by the Royal Shakespeare Company with an all-black cast that is set in Africa. It’s not my favorite play either but Roman history is wild and being able to dip into that makes it more fun for me.

    • Christopher Pearce Says:

      That’s awesome Jennifer. Thank you so much. If I end up teaching JC again (I think I will next year!) I will definitely check in to it. I can say that the Marlon Brando version from 1957, while very good, doesn’t quite cut the mustard with 21st century students:)

Leave a Reply

