Teacher Comics: Lending Library

My current teaching assignment doesn’t allow me to focus attention on my classroom’s lending library as much as I would like, but you still do get those moments where young people who are excited to read find out they have access to great books in my room. Those moments are wonderful.

Teachable Moments

TeachComic74

Students are allowed to read a book after they are finished with the Ohio Graduation Test, so my book nook did a brisk business over the past week.

I’m enormously proud of my classroom’s lending library. I’ve worked pretty tirelessly over the last five years to create a space full of awesome books for teenage readers, including a sizable section of graphic novels. I scour thrift stores, secondhand shops, and yard sales to either find good books for my classroom, or books I can sell at a profit and use the cash I get for those books to buy better ones for my classroom. Our school’s media center has not received any funding from the state of Ohio for almost TEN YEARS, people. It’s a travesty I try to combat a little with my collection of books.

It’s so rewarding when I have kids who took classes with me…

View original post 35 more words

2 Responses to “Teacher Comics: Lending Library”

  1. Anne Paul Says:

    Good to know that kids are still doing elective reading, in addition to required reading.

  2. I feel the pain! I’m a librarian at a high school in Alabama and we got our first bit of state funding this year for the first time in ELEVEN YEARS. It was exciting, but it was also only $25 per teacher unit, which doesn’t go very far. I feel the pain of this at least once a week when I have to inform kids that I’m sorry but I only have one copy of that book they all really want to read.

Leave a Reply

