Summer Journal Comics: Exercise thoughts

FamilySummer11

In my twenties, I absolutely loathed people who identified as urban cyclists. While I certainly did know a person or two who managed to live in one of New York City’s five boroughs while owning a bike and not becoming a hideous douche, for the most part people seem to be subsumed by bike culture the moment their feet touch a pedal. Putting it simply, a lot of people use bicycles not because they’re a convenient conveyance or because they like them… they use them to be part of the culture, and to be as obnoxious to non-bikers as their means allowed.

Having said that, I don’t know how much I should talk about my exercising in these summer strips. I don’t want to come off as sounding like I’m a real bicyclist or anything. I do about 5 to 7 miles every morning before breakfast. I’ve only missed one day so far due to an early doctor’s appointment.

It’s not the best exercise to lose weight but it’s nice to be active and I get a lot of energy out of just those 30 minutes of cycling. It’s also a good time to think.

Leave a Reply

