Teaching My Friend Dahmer

I spent a great weekend at the Chicago Comics and Entertainment Expo and one of my favorite parts of spending time at C2E2 was getting to sit in on some panels that dealt with topics around teaching, literacy, and comics. I was struck with a lot of the conversations centering around how to get started teaching with comics in the classroom, which is a topic I know an awful lot about.

A few years ago I taught Derf Backderf’s My Friend Dahmer to my students and I drew a series of comics about the experience. Comics about teaching comics, yeah you read that right.

I thought it might be a good idea to repost some of those strips here for some of my new followers.

This is not a guide just a collection of my experiences teaching comics… although I do think there are some helpful tips in here.

EduComic90

EduComic91

EduComic92

EduComic93

EduComic94

EduComic95

EduComic96

EduComic97

EduComic98

EduComic99

EduComic101

EduComic102

EduComic103

EduComic104

EduComic105

3 Responses to “Teaching My Friend Dahmer”

  1. Great approach to a difficult and fascinating topic. Sharing what you are doing in the classroom not only inspires others, it paves the way to future success. Students always ask for relevant materials, this delivers!

  2. Naomi R Olson Says:

    What Paul Hackl said… I just realized I was typing the exact same thing the above comment said. Thanks for this blog.

Leave a comment