what’s going on with school (and where are the comics)

I should start by letting you all know what I mentioned here has come to pass. I’ve been asked to teach seven periods of instruction this year, no planning period. I thought long and hard about whether I was going to agree to this request, knowing full well how important a planning period is to the general sanity of an educator. I also talked it over with Ellen for a few days, as I knew the burden of my working such a full schedule would impact her and the kids in a lot of ways. In the end, I agreed to give up my plan and teach a seventh class this year.

The new class is an Honors English class for 9th graders, which is one of the chief reasons why I made the decision. Students in those classes tend to be self-motivated with good support systems at home already in place. I’m already teaching two other sections of Honors, so this wouldn’t be a matter of creating new lesson plans. I’d just have another section where I implement LPs I’m using earlier in the day. Although it’s a lot of extra work, especially at the end of the day, it seemed like a new class would be a decent fit.

That being said, I do have some qualms about the choice I made. Besides the loss of downtime during my workday, I can’t help but think about the practical implications of this situation. If we have more students than teachers can adequately cover, the school should just be able to hire new teachers. That seems simple math to me. If you follow this line of thinking, I suppose I’m part of the problem. If I hadn’t volunteered to teach the class… and NOBODY else on staff had volunteered… well then, I suppose the school would have been forced to hire new teachers.

At any rate, I said yes and I’m starting to wonder what my increased workload will mean for the comic. If the past week has been any indication, the time I usually use to sketch thumbnails (my planning period) has disappeared and the time I use to draw and ink the comics (after school, usually during the evenings) is reserved for rest and recovery. I have the first two weeks of comics planned for the 2012-2013 school year in my sketchbook… but I’m not moving at my usual pace.

I suppose we’ll see what the future holds. I have a couple of “Elliot and Henry” comics to post in the upcoming week. Hopefully I’ll adjust more to my new schedule and be set to post new teaching comics soon!

Leave a Reply

