I will be giving a talk at Miami University in two weeks!

verity-logo-revised

I mentioned this on the website a few months ago but as we inch ever closer, I wanted to remind readers of Teachable Moments in Southwest Ohio that I will be giving a talk at Miami University Middletown on May 7th. Here’s the full scoop:

Thursday, May 7 • Educating with Words and Pictures: Comics in the Classroom with Chris Pearce • 6 pm
Chris Pearce is an educator and cartoonist recently profiled by National Public Radio. He is currently working as an English Language Arts instructor at Middletown High School. For the past four years, Pearce has been capturing the every day life of a teacher in his daily journal comic, Teachable Moments. His comic has been a success with fans of autobiographical writing and comic art. He will discuss his comic creation, from original inspirations to his recent NPR article. Pearce will also discuss how the act of creating art has helped him to become a more thoughtful teacher, both in and outside the classroom. Learn how comics can challenge what we know about the traditional educational process!

I’m very excited about the talk and hope to see many folks come out! Please excuse me if I start plugging this relentlessly over the next few weeks!

Leave a comment